Compared · Portugal

Best eSIM for Portugal in 2026 (and when a local SIM is better)

EU roaming rules, UK networks' daily charges, MEO, NOS and Vodafone Portugal's tourist eSIMs and prepaid plans, and five travel eSIM apps compared on price, data, validity and hotspot use, with every price dated 4 October 2026.

  • 10 min read
  • Last checked 2026-10-04
Illustrative image: golden-hour sandstone cliffs and coves on an Atlantic coast
Illustrative · AI placeholder

Prices and plans checked on 4 October 2026. Mobile prices change often, and some eSIM sites show different currencies depending on where you browse from. Every price below says where it came from. Check current prices before you buy.

The short answer: if your phone plan is from an EU country, you probably don’t need anything for a holiday — roam-like-at-home applies. If you are on a UK plan, check your network’s daily charge first; on a two-week trip it can cost more than an eSIM. For weeks of laptop work, the Portuguese networks’ own tourist eSIMs (MEO, Vodafone Portugal) were among the cheapest unlimited options we found, and they allow hotspot use. Travel eSIM apps (Nomad, Saily, Airalo, Holafly) are handy for a fixed amount of data or a multi-country trip.

Below: the roaming rules, the local offers, the apps, a comparison table, and what to choose for a holiday, a workation, a long stay and a family with several phones.

If your SIM is from the EU: roam like at home, with limits

EU rules let you use your home allowance at domestic prices while occasionally travelling in the EU. The test is simple: as long as you spend more time at home than abroad, or use your phone more at home than abroad, you are roaming under “fair use” [1].

Three details matter for nomads and long stays [1]:

  • The four-month check. Your operator can monitor your use over four months. If you spent more time abroad than at home and used more abroad than at home, it can ask you to clarify within 14 days, then start charging capped surcharges.
  • Surcharge caps. The Your Europe page still quotes the 2025 figure of €1.30 per GB plus VAT; the 2022 roaming regulation’s glide path, as published by the European Commission, sets €1.10 per GB in 2026 and €1 per GB from 2027 [1][15]. Calls are capped at €0.019 a minute and texts at €0.003 (excluding VAT) [1].
  • Unlimited and cheap plans. On an unlimited or very cheap plan, your operator may set a lower roaming data limit, which must be at least twice your monthly price (excluding VAT) divided by the wholesale cap. The EU page’s example uses the 2025 cap: a €13 unlimited plan gets at least 20 GB (2 × €13 ÷ €1.30) [1]. Recomputed with the 2026 cap of €1.10, the same plan gets at least about 23.6 GB [15].

For a workation of a few weeks, an EU SIM is usually fine. For three months or more, a Portuguese SIM or eSIM avoids the fair-use question entirely.

If your SIM is from the UK: check the daily charge

Since Brexit, EU roaming rules don’t bind UK networks, and each sets its own price. What we read on 4 October 2026:

  • Three: Go Roam in Europe lets you use your UK allowance with up to 12 GB of data. Plans without built-in roaming pay £2 a day if you joined or upgraded between 1 October 2021 and 17 December 2025, and £2.75 a day if you joined on or after 18 December 2025 (charged from 1 April 2026, subject to annual rises) [2].
  • EE: its roaming calculator tells pay-monthly customers they will avoid “the £2.29 daily charge” with its Roam Abroad Pass; pay-as-you-go customers can buy Roam like Home for 24 hours at £2.50 or 7 days at £10 [3]. Your exact charge depends on your plan.
  • Vodafone UK: Portugal is in its Euro Roam zone, included on plans with Euro Roam or Global Roam. Its fair use policy is 25 GB, then £3.84 a GB; it may add charges if you roam for more than 62 days or use more abroad than in the UK within four months [4].
  • O2: says it is not bringing back EU roaming charges for up to 25 GB in its Europe Zone, subject to a roaming limit [5].

At £2.75 a day, two weeks costs £38.50 and a month about £85 — compare that with the local eSIMs below. Remember the daily charge is per phone.

US carriers sell international day passes or include limited roaming on some plans; we did not verify current US prices for this page, so check your carrier’s international page before you go.

The Portuguese networks: MEO, NOS, Vodafone

Portugal has four mobile networks: MEO, NOS, Vodafone and, since November 2024, DIGI [14]. The three established operators all sell something for visitors.

MEO — eSIM Enjoy Portugal [7]

  • Unlimited data plus 50 minutes of calls within Portugal: €10 for 5 days, €15 for 15 days, €35 for 35 days.
  • Hotspot: MEO’s FAQ says the eSIM lets you create a Wi-Fi hotspot to share with other devices.
  • Can’t be topped up; when the period or data ends you buy another. Works only in Portugal. Validity starts when you install it and register on a network in Portugal.
  • MEO also sells eSIM Enjoy Europe (5 GB for 15 days at €10, 20 GB for 30 days at €20).

Vodafone Portugal — tourist eSIMs [6]

  • eSIM for Portugal: 10 GB for 7 days, normal price €15; a €10 promotional price was still displayed on 4 October 2026 although the small print ends the promotion on 31 August 2026, so treat €10 as unconfirmed until checkout. Portugal only, no roaming, no calls or texts.
  • eSIM for Portugal & Europe: unlimited data in Portugal plus an EEA and UK allowance — €20 for 15 days (25 GB in Europe), €30 for 30 days (45 GB in Europe; normally €35), €50 for 30 days (75 GB in Europe; normally €55). No calls or texts.
  • Hotspot: listed as a feature (“share your internet with friends, family, and any other devices”).
  • The small print dated the promotion to 31 August 2026 while the promotional prices were still showing on 4 October 2026 — check the price at checkout.
  • Physical SIMs are sold in Vodafone stores.

NOS — Tarifário Like (prepaid) [8][9]

  • €10 a month for 55 GB and 1,000 minutes/SMS with 5G access; the page advertised a bonus of 220 GB across the first three top-ups.
  • A real Portuguese prepaid number that renews monthly on top-up, with no contract. Available as an eSIM, 100% online.
  • NOS says its prepaid cards are sold in its stores, at airports with points of sale for tourists, and online [9]. Its visitor page also describes unlimited prepaid mobile-internet options for 1 or 15 days that allow hotspot use; we did not find their prices on the pages we read [9].

ID at purchase. We could not confirm on an official Portuguese source if ID is required to buy a SIM, in a shop or online. Take your passport if you go to a shop, and expect that an online checkout may ask for details too.

Travel eSIM apps for Portugal

These are resellers that put you on a Portuguese network through a data-only eSIM, bought before you fly. Prices as shown on each seller’s Portugal page on 4 October 2026:

  • Nomad — on Vodafone and MEO. 10 GB / 30 days €14.22, 20 GB / 30 days €17.78, 50 GB / 30 days €40; unlimited from €9.78 for 3 days to €29.33 for 10 days (high-speed data then resets daily, throttled to 512 kbps after the daily allowance). Its FAQ says hotspot and tethering are supported [13].
  • Saily — on MEO, Vodafone and NOS. 10 GB / 30 days €14.99, 20 GB / 30 days €24.99, 5 GB / 30 days €8.99; hotspot sharing stated as allowed [12].
  • Airalo — primary network NOS. Unlimited 7 days €24.50, 15 days €43.50, 30 days €62.50 [10]. The page we read showed only unlimited packages for Portugal, and did not state a hotspot rule.
  • Holafly — on MEO, NOS and Vodafone. Unlimited data, 30 days US$73.90 (prices shown to us in US dollars). You can share 1 GB a day with other devices [11].

We tried to read Ubigi’s Portugal page and it did not load, so it is not in the table.

Comparison table

As of 4 October 2026 — check current. “Hotspot” means what the seller’s page said; always check the plan terms.

Option Price Data Validity Hotspot Best for
EU home SIM (roam like at home) [1] Your domestic price Your allowance, fair-use limits Ongoing, four-month check Per your plan EU visitors, short trips
Three UK, plans from 18 Dec 2025 [2] £2.75 a day UK allowance, up to 12 GB Per day Per your plan A few days only
O2 UK [5] Included on eligible plans Up to 25 GB Per plan Per your plan O2 customers
MEO eSIM Enjoy Portugal [7] €15 Unlimited + 50 national minutes 15 days Yes Workations, laptop tethering
MEO eSIM Enjoy Portugal [7] €35 Unlimited + 50 national minutes 35 days Yes A month of remote work
Vodafone PT Portugal & Europe [6] €20 (30-day versions: promo prices shown, unconfirmed) Unlimited in PT + 25 GB EEA/UK 15 days Yes Trips that cross into Spain
Vodafone PT eSIM for Portugal [6] €15 (€10 promo shown, unconfirmed) 10 GB 7 days Yes One-week holidays
NOS Like [8] €10 a month 55 GB + 1,000 min/SMS Monthly, renewable Not stated Long stays, a local number
Nomad [13] €14.22 10 GB 30 days Yes Light users, phone only
Saily [12] €14.99 10 GB 30 days Yes Light users
Airalo [10] €62.50 Unlimited 30 days Not stated Buying in an app you already use
Holafly [11] US$73.90 Unlimited (1 GB/day shareable) 30 days 1 GB a day Heavy phone use, no laptop

Which to choose

Holiday of a week or two (phone only). EU visitors: your own SIM [1]. UK visitors: price your network’s daily charge against a 10 GB plan from Nomad or Saily, or Vodafone Portugal’s 7-day eSIM at its €15 list price [2][6][12][13].

Workation of two to six weeks with a laptop. The deciding question is hotspot. MEO’s unlimited eSIM (€15 for 15 days, €35 for 35 days) and Vodafone Portugal’s Portugal & Europe eSIM both state hotspot use [6][7]. Holafly’s unlimited plans cap sharing at 1 GB a day [11], which a video call can use up quickly. For a full day of laptop work, café or coworking Wi-Fi remains the base — see working remotely in the Algarve.

Long stay (months) or the remote-work visa. A Portuguese prepaid number such as NOS Like (€10 a month for 55 GB) avoids roaming fair-use problems and gives you a local number [8]. If you are moving on the visa, see our Portugal digital nomad visa guide.

Families with several phones. Every phone that needs data needs its own plan or a hotspot from one that has it; UK daily charges also apply per phone. Two routes:

  • One unlimited eSIM with hotspot on a parent’s phone, sharing to the children’s devices. NOS suggests exactly this for families travelling together [9]; MEO and Vodafone Portugal’s eSIMs allow it [6][7]. It ties the children’s connection to one phone.
  • A small data eSIM per older child (for example 3–5 GB from Nomad or Saily [12][13]) so they can use maps or message you on their own.

Check that each phone is unlocked and eSIM-compatible before you buy; operators publish compatibility lists [7].

Coverage on the west coast (Sagres, Costa Vicentina)

We could not find a sourced, place-by-place statement of coverage for Sagres, Vila do Bispo or the Costa Vicentina beaches, so we don’t make one. The reliable tool is the regulator’s: ANACOM’s GEO.ANACOM portal shows coverage for DIGI, MEO, NOS and Vodafone at any point in the country [14]. Check the exact address of your rental before you book, particularly if you plan to work from it — our Sagres guide and where to stay in the Algarve cover the bases.

Travel eSIMs connect to the same three or four networks, so they don’t add coverage; a reseller that can switch between networks (Nomad lists Vodafone and MEO, Saily and Holafly list three) helps only if one network is weak where you are [11][12][13].

Before you fly

  • Check your phone is unlocked and supports eSIM.
  • Timing differs by provider, so read the activation rule before you install:
    • Vodafone Portugal: the eSIM is active and ready once installed (turn data roaming on for it) — so install it close to when you need it, not days early [6].
    • MEO: validity starts when you install it and are registered on a network in Portugal; MEO advises activating only on arrival [7].
    • Nomad: starts automatically when it connects to the destination network, and must be activated within 60 days of purchase [13].
  • Save the emergency number 112 and the SNS 24 health line; our insurance guide has the details.
  • Getting from Faro to the west? See Faro airport to Lagos and Sagres.

Sources

  1. Your Europe: Roaming in the EU, page last checked 7 January 2026, accessed 4 October 2026.
  2. Three UK: Go Roam, accessed 4 October 2026.
  3. EE: Roaming costs, accessed 4 October 2026.
  4. Vodafone UK: Roaming, accessed 4 October 2026.
  5. O2: Using your phone abroad, accessed 4 October 2026.
  6. Vodafone Portugal: eSIM for Portugal & Europe, accessed 4 October 2026.
  7. MEO: eSIM Enjoy Portugal, Europe and North America, accessed 4 October 2026.
  8. NOS: Tarifários pré-pagos, accessed 4 October 2026.
  9. NOS: A visitar Portugal? Sabe como te podes manter sempre ligado, accessed 4 October 2026.
  10. Airalo: Portugal eSIM, accessed 4 October 2026.
  11. Holafly: eSIM Portugal, accessed 4 October 2026.
  12. Saily: eSIM Portugal, accessed 4 October 2026.
  13. Nomad: Portugal eSIM, accessed 4 October 2026.
  14. ANACOM: GEO.ANACOM disponibiliza informação sobre a cobertura das redes, published 17 February 2025, accessed 4 October 2026.
  15. European Commission: IP/22/4198, new roaming regulation (wholesale caps 2022–2027), accessed 4 October 2026.

Source references

  1. Your Europe (EU): Roaming in the EU: fair use, four-month check, surcharge caps (page last checked 7 Jan 2026) · accessed
  2. Three UK: Go Roam: daily roaming charges by joining date, 12 GB limit · accessed
  3. EE: Roaming costs calculator (daily charge, Roam like Home add-ons) · accessed
  4. Vodafone UK: Roaming: zones, Euro Roam, fair use and 62-day rule · accessed
  5. O2: Using your phone abroad: Europe Zone up to 25 GB · accessed
  6. Vodafone Portugal: eSIM for Portugal and Portugal & Europe (prices, data, hotspot) · accessed
  7. MEO: eSIM Enjoy Portugal, Europe and North America (prices, hotspot, validity) · accessed
  8. NOS: Tarifários pré-pagos (Tarifário Like 55 GB) · accessed
  9. NOS: A visitar Portugal? (prepaid options for visitors, where to buy, hotspot for families) · accessed
  10. Airalo: Portugal eSIM · accessed
  11. Holafly: eSIM Portugal (unlimited plans, 1 GB a day sharing) · accessed
  12. Saily: eSIM Portugal · accessed
  13. Nomad: Portugal eSIM (plans, networks, hotspot FAQ) · accessed
  14. ANACOM: GEO.ANACOM: network coverage information for DIGI, MEO, NOS and Vodafone (17 Feb 2025) · accessed
  15. European Commission: press release IP/22/4198: new roaming regulation, wholesale data caps 2022–2027 (€1.10/GB in 2026) · accessed

Quick answers

What is the best eSIM for Portugal?

It depends on how long you stay and if you tether a laptop. On 4 October 2026 the Portuguese networks' own tourist eSIMs were among the cheapest for unlimited data: MEO's eSIM Enjoy Portugal at €15 for 15 days and Vodafone Portugal's Portugal & Europe eSIM at €20 for 15 days, both allowing hotspot use. For a fixed amount of data over 30 days, Nomad listed 10 GB for €14.22 and Saily 10 GB for €14.99 [6][7][12][13]. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.

Do I need an eSIM in Portugal if I have an EU phone plan?

Usually not for a holiday. Under EU roam-like-at-home rules you pay domestic prices while travelling in the EU, subject to fair use. If over four months you spend more time abroad than at home and use more data abroad, your operator can ask you to explain and then add capped surcharges, so for multi-month stays a Portuguese SIM or eSIM is safer [1]. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.

How much do UK networks charge to roam in Portugal?

It depends on the network and when you joined. Three charges £2 a day for plans taken between 1 October 2021 and 17 December 2025 and £2.75 a day for plans from 18 December 2025 (from 1 April 2026). EE's roaming calculator mentions a £2.29 daily charge for pay-monthly customers. O2 includes roaming in its Europe Zone up to a 25 GB limit [2][3][5]. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.

Can I use a Portugal eSIM as a hotspot for my laptop?

On some plans. MEO's eSIM Enjoy, Vodafone Portugal's tourist eSIMs, Nomad and Saily stated that hotspot use is allowed on 4 October 2026. Holafly's unlimited plans let you share 1 GB a day, which is little for a working day on a laptop [6][7][11][12][13]. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.

Can I buy a SIM card at Faro airport?

NOS lists airports among the places it sells prepaid cards to visitors, and Vodafone Portugal sells physical SIMs in its stores [6][9]. MEO and Vodafone Portugal also sell tourist eSIMs online [6][7]. ID requirements, in a shop or online, could not be verified on an official source for this page, so carry your passport. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.

Is there mobile coverage in Sagres and on the Costa Vicentina?

We could not find a sourced, place-by-place answer. Portugal's regulator ANACOM publishes coverage maps for MEO, NOS, Vodafone and DIGI on its GEO.ANACOM portal, where you can check an exact address before you book [14].

More onPortugalTown guide

Keep reading