Compared · Portugal
Health and travel insurance for digital nomads in Portugal (2026)
Travel insurance, nomad insurance and international health insurance compared for a stay in Portugal: what the EHIC and UK GHIC cover and don't, what the D8 visa asks for, and eight named providers with ages, deductibles, children and home cover as read on 4 October 2026.

Prices and policy terms checked on 4 October 2026. Insurance prices depend on your age, where you live and the dates you pick, and providers change terms. Every figure below says where it came from. Read the policy wording before you buy; this page is not insurance advice.
The short answer: for a few weeks in Portugal, a UK GHIC or EHIC (if you are insured in a UK or EU/EEA state system) plus ordinary travel insurance covers most people. For a stay of several months, a nomad-style travel medical policy (SafetyWing Essential, Genki Traveler, Heymondo Long Stay) is the usual fit. If Portugal becomes home, or you need routine care, pregnancy or ongoing treatment covered, you are looking at international health insurance or the Portuguese public system once you are a resident, not travel cover.
This page explains the three types, what the free European cards do and don’t pay for, what the remote-work visa asks for, and how eight named options compare on the details that matter for nomads, workations and families.
Three kinds of cover, and what each is for
| Compared | Travel insurance | Nomad / long-stay travel medical | International health insurance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | One trip with a return date | Months abroad, often open-ended | Living abroad, long term |
| Pays for | Emergencies abroad, repatriation, cancellation, baggage | Emergencies abroad, repatriation, some travel extras; often some cover at home | Routine and emergency care where you live, sometimes maternity, dental, mental health |
| Pre-existing conditions | Usually excluded or declared | Usually excluded | Sometimes accepted after underwriting |
| Typical length | Up to a set number of days | Monthly subscription, often capped at 12 months | Annual, renewable |
| Examples on this page | World Nomads, IATI Backpacker | SafetyWing Essential, Genki Traveler, Heymondo Long Stay | SafetyWing Complete, Genki Native, Cigna Global |
The boundary that trips people up is “unexpected” versus “ongoing”. Travel and nomad policies pay for something new and sudden: a broken wrist on the rocks at Ponta da Piedade, a stomach bug, appendicitis. They don’t pay for a check-up, a repeat prescription, or a condition you already had. SafetyWing puts it plainly: under its Essential plan a new condition becomes pre-existing when the plan expires, so it “should not be used as ongoing health insurance” [8]. Genki says the same of its Traveler product: you need some other long-term cover to return to [9].
What the EHIC and UK GHIC do in Portugal
People insured in an EU or EEA country’s state system (and Switzerland) use the European Health Insurance Card; it follows your insurance, not your passport, so an EU citizen insured elsewhere may not be entitled to one. It gives “medically necessary, state-provided healthcare” on the same conditions and at the same cost as for people insured in Portugal. It does not cover private healthcare, return flights home, or treatment when you travel specifically to get it, and the Commission states it “is not an alternative to travel insurance” [3].
UK residents use the UK GHIC (or a UK EHIC if they have Withdrawal Agreement rights). The NHS lists what it does and doesn’t do [1]:
- Covers: state healthcare that cannot reasonably wait until you return — emergency treatment and A&E, care for long-term or pre-existing conditions, routine maternity care (unless you travel to give birth). It may be free or may need the payment a local resident would make.
- Does not cover: being flown back to the UK (medical repatriation), treatment in a private medical facility, ski or mountain rescue.
- Families: every family member needs their own card; you can add a spouse, civil partner and children when you apply. Cards are free and last up to five years [1].
The FCDO’s Portugal page repeats that a GHIC or EHIC is not an alternative to travel insurance and lists the gaps: changes to bookings, medical repatriation, private treatment [2].
In practice, the gap that matters most is private care: the card does not work in a private medical facility [1]. If you want the option of a private clinic, that is what your insurance is for.
Public healthcare (SNS) basics for visitors
Portugal’s public health service is the SNS. Three facts worth knowing before you need it:
- Emergencies: call 112 and ask for an ambulance [2].
- Not an emergency: the SNS 24 line, 808 24 24 24 on the mainland, press 9 for English [2].
- User fees: Portugal’s health regulator says user fees (taxas moderadoras) are charged when you go to a hospital emergency department without a prior referral from the SNS, and are paid at the time of care [4]. The fee is waived if you were referred (through SNS 24 or a health centre) or are admitted to hospital from the emergency department [4]. Some groups are exempt, among them pregnant women and women who have just given birth, and minors, and people with an incapacity of 60% or more; exemptions have to be proven with an official document [4]. The ERS page does not say how these exemptions apply to visitors, and the amount per visit was not verified for this page. The legal basis is Decreto-Lei n.º 113/2011 as amended by Decreto-Lei n.º 37/2022 [4].
- A fee is not a bill. The user fee is what an insured patient pays. Without an EHIC or GHIC, or for private care, you may be charged the cost of the treatment itself, which is what travel insurance is for [1][3].
The SNS 24 line is the documented way to get referred. If you are not sure whether something is an emergency, calling first both gets advice and may avoid the fee.
Once you hold a residence permit, the picture changes: to use state healthcare as a resident you register with the SNS, and a GHIC or EHIC covers temporary stays, not a move [6]. Our Portugal digital nomad visa guide covers the residence steps.
What the D8 / remote-work visa asks for
Our visa guide has the full document list. On insurance, the Consulate General in London’s checklist dated 6 March 2026 asks for travel insurance covering medical expenses, urgent assistance and repatriation for the full 120 days of the residence visa; British nationals who meet the criteria may use a certified S1 form instead, which applies to defined groups such as state pensioners, not to every applicant [5].
Two points from the providers’ own pages are worth reading alongside that:
- SafetyWing says people have used Nomad Insurance for visa applications but that it “cannot guarantee” acceptance by all authorities, and offers to check a list of requirements sent to its support address. It provides a visa letter or certificate of coverage from the dashboard [8].
- SafetyWing Complete states it cannot cover residents of Portugal, defined as people living there six months or more of the year [8]. That matters if your plan is the residence permit after the visa.
If you apply, match the policy wording to the consulate’s three words — medical, urgent assistance, repatriation — and to the 120 days, and keep the certificate that says so.
Before you goInfo · no partner links
Travel insurance for long stays
A European health card (EHIC, or the UK’s GHIC) covers state healthcare, not everything. For a long stay, check whether a policy covers you for the whole trip, pre-existing conditions, and sports like surfing. We don’t sell or recommend specific policies.
Named providers compared
Everything in this table was read on each provider’s own website on 4 October 2026. Prices are what the page showed us, in the currency shown; your quote will depend on age, residence and dates. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.
| Provider and plan | Type | Price as shown | Join up to age | Deductible / excess | Children | Cover in home country | Maximum length | Surfing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SafetyWing Essential [7][8] | Nomad travel medical | US$62.72 per 4 weeks, ages 18–39 | 69 | None (FAQ: “no deductible”) | 1 child under 10 per adult, max 2 per family, free when added at purchase | Up to 30 days per 90 days | 364 days at a time | In standard list |
| SafetyWing Complete [7][8] | International health | US$177.50 per month, ages 18–39 | 64 (renewable after) | None (FAQ) | Spouse and children under 18 (or 18–24 in full-time education), each paid by age band | Full; but cannot cover residents of Portugal (6+ months a year) | Renewable indefinitely | — (not checked) |
| Genki Traveler [9] | Nomad travel medical | Shown at sign-up only | 69 | €50 per case; none for inpatient stays | Not stated on the page read | Emergencies only, first 6 weeks of each stay, after 4+ weeks abroad | 12 months | Included |
| Genki Native [10] | International health | €189 per month example: Basic, age 20–24, no deductible | 55 | €0, €500 or €1,000 a year (your choice) | Not stated on the page read | Option of 182-day or full-year cover in your country of citizenship | No maximum | — (not checked) |
| Heymondo Long Stay [11] | Long-stay travel | US$162 for 90 days (worldwide excl. USA); renewals from US$54 for 30 days | 49 | US$250 on medical claims | Not stated on the page read | Not covered (outside home country only) | Minimum 90 days, then renew | In standard list; kitesurfing needs add-on |
| IATI Backpacker [12] | Travel (long trips) | Quote required | Not stated on the page read | Not stated on the page read | Not stated on the page read | Not stated | Extendable on the go; maximum not stated | Listed among adventure sports |
| World Nomads [13] | Travel | Quote only | Quote | Quote | Quote | Requires a country of residence with long-term health cover | Quote | Quote |
| Cigna Global [14] | International health | Quote only | Quote | Quote | Plans offered for individuals and families | Quote | Quote | Quote |
What the table hides, from the same pages:
- Medical limits. SafetyWing Essential: US$250,000 overall, evacuation US$100,000 lifetime [7]. Genki Traveler: €1,000,000 [9]. Genki Native: €1,000,000 (Basic) or €3,500,000 (Premium) a year [10]. Heymondo Long Stay: up to US$2,500,000 [11]. IATI Backpacker: €500,000 [12].
- Pre-approval. Genki Traveler wants an itemised estimate at least five days before any treatment of €1,000 or more, or it pays only 50% — unless its assistance team is already managing a hospital stay [9]. SafetyWing wants to know in advance about procedures over US$500 on Complete [8].
- Waiting period. Genki Traveler: if you are already abroad when cover starts and had no prior cover, only emergencies are covered for the first 14 days [9].
- Repatriation ends the policy on Genki Traveler: once you are flown home at the insurer’s expense, cover ends on arrival [9].
Which type fits whom
There is no single best policy; there is a best fit for a length of stay and a family shape. Our criteria: does it cover the length of your stay, your age, your children, and the care you are likely to need.
Workation of two to eight weeks (EU or UK resident, keeping home healthcare). Carry your EHIC or GHIC [1][3] and add travel insurance for repatriation and private care. A per-trip policy usually does this; a nomad subscription also works and is easy to cancel. Check the single-trip day limit if your employer’s annual policy is the one you are relying on.
Nomad for three to twelve months, moving between countries. This is what SafetyWing Essential, Genki Traveler and Heymondo Long Stay are built for [7][9][11]. Decide on:
- your age (Heymondo stops at 49 [11]),
- how often you go home (SafetyWing allows 30 days per 90 [8]; Genki Traveler only emergencies, only after four weeks away [9]; Heymondo doesn’t cover home [11]),
- deductible tolerance (none on SafetyWing [8], €50 per case on Genki Traveler [9], US$250 on Heymondo [11]).
Moving to Portugal on the remote-work visa. For the visa itself you need the 120-day cover described above [5]. After that you are building a life, not taking a trip: international health insurance (Genki Native, Cigna Global) or SNS registration as a resident [6][10][14]. Check residency exclusions first — SafetyWing Complete excludes residents of Portugal [8].
Families with children. SafetyWing Essential is the only option here that stated free cover for young children on the pages we read — one child under 10 per adult, up to two per family, added at purchase [8]. For every other provider, get a family quote in writing. And apply for a GHIC or EHIC for every child: each person needs their own card [1].
Pre-existing conditions: the clause to read first
All the travel-style policies above exclude pre-existing conditions in some form [8][9][11]. The definitions differ:
- Genki Traveler: anything that showed symptoms, was diagnosed, treated or medically consulted within one year before cover starts, plus chronic or congenital conditions you knew about [9].
- IATI Backpacker: covers emergency primary care for the first 24 hours after admission if an unpredictable complication of a chronic or pre-existing condition is life-threatening [12].
- Genki Native: assesses pre-existing conditions case by case from a health questionnaire, and you can apply to see the answer without signing up [10].
If you or a child has asthma, diabetes, a heart condition or a recent operation, the UK GHIC and EHIC remain useful in Portugal, because they cover care for pre-existing conditions in the public system [1][3]. A travel policy covers a pre-existing condition only if you declare it and the insurer accepts it in writing; otherwise assume anything linked to that condition, including repatriation for it, is excluded.
What to check in the policy wording
Before buying, open the full policy document (not the summary) and search for these:
- Surfing and lessons. Surfing appeared in the standard lists of SafetyWing, Genki Traveler and Heymondo on 4 October 2026 [8][9][11]; kitesurfing needed Heymondo’s adventure add-on [11]. Check whether lessons, competitions and surfing against lifeguard advice are excluded. Other coastal activities, such as coasteering or cliff jumping, may sit in a different category; search the activity list for each one you plan. See our Algarve beaches guide for the bathing-season dates when lifeguards are on duty.
- Scooters and car hire. SafetyWing covers motor accidents only if properly licensed, wearing safety equipment and not intoxicated [7]. If you plan to drive, our Algarve car hire guide covers the rental side; insurance for the hire car itself is a separate product.
- Laptops. Electronics are often capped or an add-on: Heymondo covers electronic equipment up to 50% of the baggage limit, extendable to 100% [11]; SafetyWing sells an electronics theft add-on [7]. For remote workers this is usually the claim most likely to happen.
- Home visits. Count how many days you will spend back home and compare with the home-country rule in the table.
- Direct billing versus reimbursement. Genki pays hospitals directly for inpatient stays; for outpatient visits you pay first and claim [9]. Keep every receipt.
Practical steps before you fly
- Apply for the GHIC (UK) or check your EHIC (EU) for each traveller; the NHS says cards arrive within 15 working days and a Provisional Replacement Certificate covers you if one is missing [1].
- Save 112 and SNS 24 (808 24 24 24) in every adult’s phone [2]. Our eSIM guide covers getting data on arrival.
- Download your insurer’s app and the certificate of cover; you will need the policy number at a hospital desk.
- If you are applying for the visa, print the certificate showing the 120-day period [5].
For where to base yourself, see where to stay in the Algarve and working remotely in the Algarve.
Sources
- NHS: Get healthcare cover abroad with a UK GHIC or UK EHIC, accessed 4 October 2026.
- GOV.UK (FCDO): Portugal travel advice: health, accessed 4 October 2026.
- European Commission: European Health Insurance Card, accessed 4 October 2026.
- ERS: Taxas moderadoras do SNS (FAQ), accessed 4 October 2026.
- Consulate General of Portugal in London via VFS: D9 residence visa checklist, digital nomads (PDF dated 6 March 2026), read for our visa guide on 1 October 2026.
- GOV.UK: Healthcare in Portugal, accessed 4 October 2026.
- SafetyWing: Nomad Insurance, accessed 4 October 2026.
- SafetyWing: Nomad Insurance FAQ, accessed 4 October 2026.
- Genki: Genki Traveler, accessed 4 October 2026.
- Genki: Genki Native, accessed 4 October 2026.
- Heymondo: Long Stay Travel Insurance, accessed 4 October 2026.
- IATI: IATI Backpacker, accessed 4 October 2026.
- World Nomads, accessed 4 October 2026.
- Cigna Healthcare: international health insurance, accessed 4 October 2026.
Source references
- NHS: Get healthcare cover abroad with a UK GHIC or UK EHIC (what it covers and does not) · accessed
- GOV.UK (FCDO): Portugal travel advice: health (GHIC/EHIC, 112, SNS 24 line) · accessed
- European Commission: European Health Insurance Card · accessed
- ERS (Entidade Reguladora da Saúde): Taxas moderadoras do SNS (FAQ) · accessed
- Consulate General of Portugal in London via VFS: D9 residence visa checklist, digital nomads (PDF dated 6 March 2026), as read for our visa guide · accessed
- GOV.UK: Healthcare in Portugal (living in Portugal, registering with the SNS) · accessed
- SafetyWing: Nomad Insurance (Essential and Complete, prices, limits) · accessed
- SafetyWing: Nomad Insurance FAQ (age limits, deductible, children, home country, residents not covered, sports list) · accessed
- Genki: Genki Traveler product page (deductible, age, home country, 12-month limit, prior conditions) · accessed
- Genki: Genki Native product page (price example, deductibles, age at joining, pre-existing conditions) · accessed
- Heymondo: Long Stay Travel Insurance (prices, excess, age limit, sports) · accessed
- IATI: IATI Backpacker (EU English site: cover limits; product price requires a quote) · accessed
- World Nomads: home page (quote-based, country-of-residence rules) · accessed
- Cigna Healthcare: international health insurance for individuals and families (quote-based) · accessed
Quick answers
Do I need health insurance as a digital nomad in Portugal?
For a visit it is not a legal entry requirement for UK or EU citizens, but the UK GHIC and the EHIC (for people insured in an EU/EEA state system) only give access to state healthcare on local terms; they do not pay for repatriation, private clinics or a changed flight. For the remote-work residence visa, the London consulate's March 2026 checklist asks for travel insurance covering medical expenses, urgent assistance and repatriation for the visa's 120 days [1][3][5]. Rules as of 4 October 2026 — check current.
Does the UK GHIC work in Portugal?
Yes. The NHS says a UK GHIC gives medically necessary state healthcare in EEA countries, including Portugal, on the same basis as a resident, which may be free or may need a payment a local would make. It does not cover medical repatriation, treatment in a private facility or mountain rescue, and the NHS advises travel insurance as well [1]. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.
Is SafetyWing enough for the Portugal digital nomad visa?
SafetyWing says it cannot guarantee that authorities will accept its plans and offers to check a list of requirements sent to support. Compare the policy against the consulate's wording: medical expenses, urgent assistance and repatriation, for the full 120 days of the visa. Its Complete plan also states it cannot cover people who live in Portugal for six months or more a year [8]. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.
Are children covered free on nomad insurance?
On SafetyWing Essential, one child aged 14 days to under 10 per adult, or two children per family, can be added at no extra cost when you buy; other family members pay their age-band price [8]. The other providers checked for this page did not state a free child rule on the pages we read, so ask for a family quote. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.
Does travel insurance cover surfing in the Algarve?
Often, but check the wording. Surfing appeared in the standard activity lists of SafetyWing, Genki Traveler and Heymondo Long Stay, while kitesurfing needed Heymondo's adventure add-on [8][9][11]; as of 4 October 2026 — check current. Lessons, board damage and surfing against lifeguard advice are typical places where the small print differs.
What does a visit to a Portuguese public emergency department cost?
Portugal's health regulator ERS says a user fee (taxa moderadora) is charged at a hospital emergency department when you arrive without a referral from the SNS (via the SNS 24 line on 808 24 24 24 or a health centre); it is waived if you were referred or are admitted to hospital from the emergency department, and groups such as pregnant women and minors are exempt [4]. The fee amount was not verified for this page. The fee is not the cost of care: without an EHIC or GHIC, a visitor may be billed for the treatment itself [1][3]. As of 4 October 2026 — check current.