Beach in Lagos

Praia Dona Ana

Cliff-framed cove south of Lagos town, reached only by a stairway (CM Lagos). Lifeguarded 1 Jun–30 Sep 2026, “uso limitado” (Portaria); not on the ABAE Blue Flag 2026 list. Research draft.

OK with kids

Documented conditions only: access is solely by a stairway the municipality describes as particularly long and winding (CM Lagos page, undated; Regulamento 2024); lifeguards 1 Jun–30 Sep 2026, and listed as “praia de uso limitado”, reason not stated (Portaria 204-A/2026/1). Research — not first-hand.

The notes

Coordinates (research)

  • Used: OSM way 29437665 (natural=beach) centroid 37.0920888, -8.6688785 [Nominatim, 1 Oct 2026].
  • pt-Wikipedia 37.09209, -8.6689 (≈2 m from OSM) [rev 27 Sep 2026]; ABAE 37.091611, -8.669377 (≈69 m) [ABAE local page]. All within 100 m — no conflict.

What the sources say (research)

  • Set between rocky cliffs. [CM Lagos beach page, read 2 Oct 2026, text undated]
  • Access to the beach is by a stairway (“o acesso à praia é feito através de uma escadaria”). [CM Lagos beach page]
  • Access regulation (Aviso n.º 254/2024): access to the sand at Dona Ana and Camilo is exclusively via the existing stairways, which the regulation describes as particularly long and markedly winding, wide enough only for users without bulky equipment to pass each other safely. [CM Lagos Aviso 254/2024, 23 Jul 2024]
  • Regulation art. 7 (2024): during the bathing season, between 09:00 and 19:00, nobody may use the stairways carrying surf, SUP, windsurf, kitesurf, kayak or canoe equipment (skimboards and bodyboards exempt), and such equipment may not be placed on the sand in that period; fines €55–550 for individuals. Outside the bathing season access with equipment is free. [CM Lagos Aviso 254/2024]
  • Regulation art. 5 (2024): the bathing season is fixed yearly by Portaria; failing that it runs 1 June – 30 September. [CM Lagos Aviso 254/2024]
  • CM Lagos’s own characterisation: clean sand, blue-green water, “paisagem lindíssima”. [CM Lagos beach page]
  • Qualified as “praia de banhos” for 2026 — bathing water D. Ana (PTCK2D), praia de banhos “D. Ana”, época balnear 1 de junho a 30 de setembro; the annex footnote (*) states that waters without a listed praia de banhos are those where, at publication, surveillance of bathers is not assured (art. 2.º n.º 5 likewise). [Portaria 204-A/2026/1, anexo I (DR 1.ª série n.º 84, supl., 30 Apr 2026)]
  • Listed in the “Praia de uso limitado” column for 2026 (Decreto-Lei 159/2012, art. 11.º n.º 2); the Portaria does not state the reason. [Portaria 204-A/2026/1, anexo I (DR 1.ª série n.º 84, supl., 30 Apr 2026)]
  • AMN “Praias Vigiadas” list (linked as “Praias Vigiadas 2025” from AMN’s landing page; no year printed on the list itself): Praia da Dona Ana — 1 de junho a 30 de setembro. [AMN Praias Vigiadas; AMN Época Balnear landing page]
  • Not on the Blue Flag 2026 list; Lagos 2026 = Luz, Meia Praia, Porto de Mós, Marina de Lagos. [ABAE galardoados 2026, 2 Oct 2026]. ABAE’s own D. Ana page shows season data for 2021 only. [ABAE local page]
  • Blue Flag and Praia Acessível flags hoisted at Dona Ana in 2021 (with Meia Praia, Porto de Mós, Luz) [CM Lagos news, 25 Jun 2021]; from 2022 the municipal list is Meia Praia, Porto de Mós, Luz only [CM Lagos news, 30 Jun 2022].
  • 2021: concessioned bathing area; the municipality co-funded lifeguard wages for Luz, Porto de Mós, Camilo, D. Ana and Meia Praia (pandemic measure). [CM Lagos news, 2021]
  • 2015: sand-enlargement works contested by environmental associations. [pt-Wikipedia, rev 27 Sep 2026]
  • April 2023 works notice: tourist coaches to drop passengers at Praia D. Ana, where the existing boardwalk starts towards Praia do Camilo and the lighthouse. [CM Lagos news, 12 Apr 2023]
  • April 2023 works notice: road works between the D. Ana access junction (“nó de acesso à Praia D. Ana”) and the Camilo roundabout scheduled from September 2023 (360-day contract). [CM Lagos news, 12 Apr 2023]
  • Year-round surveillance outside the bathing season by the municipal PPAL mobile team (3 lifeguards + vehicle) covering all bathing waters: 10:00–19:00 in the bathing season, 09:00–18:00 spring/autumn, 09:00–17:00 winter; tel. 927 389 316; programme started 4 Jul 2025 — continuation in 2026 not verified. [CM Lagos news, 4 Jul 2025]

Open questions

NearbyBeaches
Schematic map with 6 numbered places around Praia Dona Ana; the numbered list next to it has the same places.123456Praia Dona Ana1 kmN
  1. 1Meia Praia
  2. 2Praia da Batata
  3. 3Praia de Porto de Mós
  4. 4Praia do Camilo
  5. 5Praia do Canavial
  6. 6Praia do Pinhão

Further afield: Praia da Luz (5 km). Straight-line distances from the centre point, not driving times.

Schematic: positions from each place's coordinates, no roads or coastline. Not for navigation.

Beach

Meia Praia

4 km+ dune-backed beach along the bay east of the marina; Blue Flag 2026 (ABAE), lifeguards 1 Jun–30 Sep 2026 (Portaria), Praia Acessível 2025, own railway halt (OSM).

  • OK with kids
  • Seasonal
Researched

last checked

Beach

Praia da Batata

Town beach about 100 m from the historic centre by Forte da Ponta da Bandeira, with sheltered corners and shade (CM Lagos). Lifeguarded 1 Jun–30 Sep 2026 (Portaria). Blue Flag 2024, not 2026.

  • OK with kids
  • Seasonal
Researched

last checked

Beach

Praia da Luz

Village beach of Luz, 7 km west of Lagos (same municipality): fine-sand and rocky halves, accessible for reduced mobility (CM Lagos); Blue Flag 2026 (ABAE), lifeguards 1 Jun–30 Sep 2026 (Portaria).

  • OK with kids
  • Seasonal
Researched

last checked

Beach

Praia de Porto de Mós

Large beach west of Lagos outside the built-up area, accessible for reduced mobility (CM Lagos); Blue Flag 2026 (ABAE), lifeguards 1 Jun–30 Sep 2026 (Portaria), Praia Acessível 2025. Research draft.

  • OK with kids
  • Seasonal
Researched

last checked