Practical guide · Madeira
Car hire in Madeiraairport desks, deposits, 'no deposit' offers and the roads (2026)
Hiring a car at Madeira airport: the eight companies with desks in arrivals, what local firms really mean by 'no deposit' or 'no credit card', excess insurance, the toll-free VR1, paid parking at Pico do Areeiro, fuel prices, child-seat law and licences, and whether you need a car at all.

Terms and prices checked on 9 October 2026. Hire rates change weekly, so this page gives none. What it gives (desk hours, deposit rules, parking fees, the fuel cap) comes from the companies’ and authorities’ own pages, with the date. Check the current terms before you book.
Madeira airport has eight car hire companies with desks in the arrivals hall: Avis-Budget, Europcar, Goldcar, Guerin, Hertz, Madeira Rent, Rodavante and Sixt [1]. Smaller local firms deliver to the airport or collect you from it. The questions that matter more than the daily rate: how big the deposit is and what card it needs, what the excess cover costs, and whether you need a car for the whole stay. On an island where Funchal works well without a car but most trailheads have no bus, the honest answer is often “for part of it”.
Desks at the airport
All eight desks are “Before Security, Floor 0, Arrivals” on the airport’s page [1]:
| Company | Listed desk hours [1] |
|---|---|
| Avis-Budget | 08:00–24:00 |
| Europcar | 08:00–22:00 |
| Goldcar | 07:00–24:00 |
| Guerin | 09:00–18:00 |
| Hertz | 08:00–21:00 |
| Madeira Rent | 07:00–00:00 |
| Rodavante | 08:00–20:00 |
| Sixt | 08:00–22:00 (contract opening assured for bookings after 22:00) |
On a late arrival, check the desk hours before you book. Some companies charge for airport delivery or out-of-hours handover: Rodavante lists €20 for airport delivery or collection in normal hours and €40–60 at night, plus 22% VAT [2]; Funchal Drive lists €35 for out-of-hours service [7].
“No deposit” and “no credit card”: what it means
Searches for car hire in Madeira with no deposit or no credit card are common, and some local firms offer a version of it. In every case we read, it comes with conditions:
| Company (own terms, 9 Oct 2026) | Card for the deposit | Deposit | When there is no deposit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rodavante | Physical embossed credit card in the driver’s name; no debit, virtual or prepaid cards [2] | €1,000–2,100 by car group [2] | Not stated; its reduced-excess cover is only for drivers aged 26–75 [3] |
| Guerin | Physical credit card “always” needed for the deposit [4] | Not stated in the guide we read | Not stated |
| Madpoint | Credit or debit card, or cash [5] | €1,100–2,700 with basic insurance [5] | Its FAQ lists a €500 deposit with its PLUS cover for two premium groups [5]; for other groups it does not say |
| RentADrive | No credit card needed with its SCDW [6] | Taken without its SCDW; up to €150 on 1–2 day rentals even with it [6] | With SCDW, except the 7-seat group C and the Renault 5 Electric, which its page excludes [6] |
| Funchal Drive | No credit card needed with a zero-deductible package [7] | Not stated in the excerpt we read | Not stated; only the credit card is waived [7] |
What this means in practice:
- “No deposit” means you buy the company’s own top cover. That is usually the most expensive way to cover the excess. Which? found that cover bought at the hire desk costs on average eight times more than standalone excess insurance [8].
- The cheaper route needs a credit limit. With standalone excess insurance, the full deposit stays blocked on your card, typically £500–1,200 according to MoneySavingExpert, and if the car is damaged you pay first and claim back later [8][9]. Madeira deposits on the pages we read go up to €2,700 [5].
- Debit-card travellers have options, but read the company’s own terms, not the comparison site’s summary. Rodavante and Guerin say no [2][4]; Madpoint and RentADrive say yes, on their terms [5][6]. Card types and which currency to choose at the counter: paying in Portugal.
- Deposit release takes time. Rodavante says 24–48 hours after inspection [3]; Madpoint says its automated process can take up to 30 days [5].
Protect yourself the usual way: make sure every scratch is on the damage form, photograph the car at pick-up and return, and check your statement for the deposit release [9].
Before you goInfo · no partner links
Travel insurance for long stays
A European health card (EHIC, or the UK’s GHIC) covers state healthcare, not everything. For a long stay, check whether a policy covers you for the whole trip, pre-existing conditions, and sports like surfing. We don’t sell or recommend specific policies.
Roads, tolls, parking and fuel
Roads. The airport’s own FAQ is fair: “many roads are winding and steep”, and with mountain-driving experience “you shouldn’t have a problem” [1]. The VR1 expressway runs along the south coast between Ribeira Brava and Machico [11] and is the easy part. Off it, expect hairpins, narrow village lanes, steep hill starts and tight parking. A car with a bit more power than the cheapest group makes the climbs easier, especially loaded with a family.
No tolls on the VR1. The VR1 was operated for 26 years by VIALITORAL, whose concession ended at 23:59 on 28 July 2026; a new operator, AIGIH, took over under the VR1 brand [10][11]. When the change was announced, the regional secretary’s office told DNOTICIAS that no tolls were planned for the new 49-month contract [12]. The operators’ own pages say nothing about tolls either way, so this rests on that statement. The national rule that every hire car carries an electronic toll device, set by Decreto-Lei n.º 84-C/2022, is about paying tolls on tolled roads [23]; we found no toll-device fee in the Madeira company terms we read, but check your contract.
Parking at the sights costs money now. Since 1 January 2026 the forestry institute IFCN charges for its car parks [13]:
| Car park (Portaria n.º 801/2025) | 2026 rate | Free | Daily cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pico do Areeiro viewpoint | €4 an hour | First 30 minutes | €20 |
| Queimadas | €2 an hour | First 30 minutes | €10 |
| Other IFCN car parks | €2 an hour | First 30 minutes | €5 |
The same order raises the Areeiro rate each year, to €5 an hour in 2029 [13]. A sunrise at Areeiro plus the PR1 walk can easily run past four hours.
Rabaçal (25 Fontes and Risco levadas). You park on the ER 105 and either walk the 2 km of tarmac down to the forestry house or take the Calheta council’s van, daily 10:00–18:00, €5 one way or €8 return [14]. See Madeira levada walks for the trail rules and fees.
Rental-car usage fee. Every hire contract signed in Madeira from 1 June 2026 carries a regional fee of €2 per full day, capped at 10 days (so at most €20), or €1 a day for zero-emission cars. The company adds it to the invoice as a separate line [21]. Quotes on booking sites may not show it; check before you go.
Fuel. Madeira caps fuel prices every week. From 12 October 2026 the maximum is €2.003 a litre for 95 petrol and €2.091 for diesel [15]. Most companies’ fuel policy decides whether that matters to you: we did not compare policies.
Child seats and licences
- Child seats. Portugal’s Código da Estrada applies in Madeira: children under 12 and shorter than 135 cm need an approved child restraint, normally in the back; a child under 3 may sit in front only rear-facing with the passenger airbag off. The fine is €120–600 per child [16][22]. Rodavante lists child seats at €6 a day plus 22% VAT [2]; others were not checked.
- UK drivers. A photocard licence is valid for up to 185 days without an international driving permit, but GOV.UK says to check whether the hire company asks for one [17]. Funchal Drive, for example, accepts UK and EU licences without an IDP [7].
- US drivers. The State Department says a US licence is valid in Portugal for up to six months and points to AAA for an IDP [18]. Funchal Drive requires an IDP for licences from outside the UK and EU [7].
- The national rules: alcohol limits, phones, fines and what must be in the car are in driving in Portugal. That guide is written for the mainland: its toll, Lisbon and parking sections don’t apply here, and it doesn’t cover Madeira’s roads.
- Age. Minimum ages in the terms we read range from 19 (Madpoint, Funchal Drive) to 23 (Rodavante), usually with a young-driver surcharge [3][5][7].
Do you need a car at all?
For Funchal alone, mostly not: the Aerobus, city buses and the cable car cover it, while buses to Calheta are limited and we found no bus to Fanal or Rabaçal. Which bases and day trips work by bus, with timetables, is in Madeira without a car; on a month-long stay, compare a car for a few long weekends with one for the whole stay on the total price, insurance, handovers, parking and the deposit, which stays blocked on your card for the whole hire [9]. Which days of a week-long trip need one: Madeira itinerary.
Sources
Numbered references match the source list on this page. Read on 9 October 2026 unless stated.
- Madeira Airport: Car rental
- Rodavante: Terms and conditions
- Rodavante: FAQ
- Guerin: Alugar carro sem cartão de crédito
- Madpoint: FAQs
- RentADrive
- Funchal Drive: Terms and conditions
- Which?: Best car hire excess insurance 2026, read 4 October 2026
- MoneySavingExpert: How to book cheap car hire, read 4 October 2026
- VIALITORAL
- VR1 Madeira
- DNOTICIAS.PT: fact check on VR1 tolls, 19 May 2026
- JORAM: Portaria n.º 801/2025, IFCN fees (PDF)
- Câmara Municipal da Calheta: Transporte no Rabaçal
- JORAM II Série n.º 183: Despacho Conjunto n.º 91/2026 (PDF)
- Código da Estrada, art. 55.º
- GOV.UK: International driving permit
- U.S. Department of State: Portugal
- OSRM demo router: airport to Porto Moniz; other destinations queried the same way
- Horários do Funchal: Pico do Areeiro service
- JORAM: Portaria n.º 214/2026, rental-car usage fee (PDF), read 10 October 2026
- Diário da República: Código da Estrada, art. 55.º (consolidated), read 11 October 2026
- Diário da República: Decreto-Lei n.º 84-C/2022, art. 27.º, read 11 October 2026
Source references
- Madeira Airport (ANA/VINCI): Car rental, eight companies before security, floor 0, arrivals, with hours; FAQ on winding and steep roads · accessed
- Rodavante: Terms and conditions (driver 23–75, physical embossed credit card, deposit €1,000–2,100, child seat €6/day) · accessed
- Rodavante: FAQ (counters in arrivals; no maximum age, minimum 23; SCDW only for drivers 26–75; deposit released in 24–48 h) · accessed
- Guerin: Alugar carro sem cartão de crédito (blog guide; physical credit card always needed for the deposit; minimum age generally 21) · accessed
- Madpoint: FAQs (minimum age 19; deposit €1,100–2,700 with basic insurance; debit card or cash accepted; deposit return up to 30 days) · accessed
- RentADrive: homepage ('NO security deposit just add SCDW'; possible €150 deposit on 1–2 day bookings; no credit card needed with SCDW) · accessed
- Funchal Drive: Terms and conditions (minimum age 19; zero-deductible package needs no credit card; IDP for licences outside UK/EU; out-of-hours €35) · accessed
- Which?: Best car hire excess insurance 2026 (desk cover on average eight times dearer; excess usually £200–£2,500) · accessed
- MoneySavingExpert: How to book cheap car hire (credit card deposits typically £500–£1,200; photograph the car) · accessed
- VIALITORAL: end of the VR1 concession at 23:59 on 28 July 2026, handed over to AIGIH, ACE (brand VR1) · accessed
- VR1 Madeira (new operator): operation and maintenance of the VR1 between Ribeira Brava and Machico Sul · accessed
- DNOTICIAS.PT: 'Será que vamos pagar portagens na Via Rápida com a nova empresa de manutenção?' (fact check, 19 May 2026; regional secretary's office: no tolls planned) · accessed
- JORAM I Série n.º 218, Portaria n.º 801/2025 (IFCN fees from 1 Jan 2026; Pico do Areeiro car park €4/hour, first 30 min free, max €20/day) · accessed
- Câmara Municipal da Calheta: Transporte no Rabaçal (park on the ER 105, council van daily 10:00–18:00, €5 one way, €8 return) · accessed
- JORAM II Série n.º 183 sup., 9 Oct 2026: Despacho Conjunto n.º 91/2026, maximum fuel prices from 12 Oct 2026 · accessed
- Código da Estrada, art. 55.º: transport of children (PGD Lisboa consolidated text) · accessed
- GOV.UK: Check if you need an international driving permit (Portugal: photocard licence, up to 185 days without an IDP; page updated 1 Oct 2026) · accessed
- U.S. Department of State: Portugal country information (US licence valid up to 6 months; IDP via AAA or the National Auto Club) · accessed
- OSRM demo router (OpenStreetMap): drive times from Madeira airport, free-flow model, no traffic · accessed
- Horários do Funchal: Pico do Areeiro service (Funchal 06:00 and 13:30 up, 12:15 and 19:00 down, 18:00 in winter time from 25 Oct 2026; €3 a trip on board; daily except 25 Dec) · accessed
- JORAM I Série n.º 90, Portaria n.º 214/2026 (21 May 2026), art. 6: rental-car usage fee €2 per full day, max 10 days, €1 for zero-emission cars; contracts from 1 June 2026 · accessed
- Diário da República: Código da Estrada, consolidated text, art. 55.º Transporte de crianças em automóvel (under 12 and under 135 cm, approved restraint, rear seat; under 3 in front only rear-facing with the airbag off; last amended by DL n.º 102-B/2020) · accessed
- Diário da República: Decreto-Lei n.º 84-C/2022, de 9 de dezembro (text as published), art. 27.º Veículos de aluguer sem condutor: rental companies must fit every car with an on-board toll device on an automatic payment system, for tolls on road infrastructure in national territory · accessed
Quick answers
Which car hire companies have desks at Madeira airport?
The airport's car rental page lists eight, all before security on floor 0 in arrivals: Avis-Budget, Europcar, Goldcar, Guerin, Hertz, Madeira Rent, Rodavante and Sixt. Their listed hours range from 07:00–00:00 (Madeira Rent) to 09:00–18:00 (Guerin), so check yours against a late flight (page read 9 October 2026).
Can I hire a car in Madeira without a deposit or a credit card?
With some local companies, if you buy their full cover. RentADrive says that with its SCDW you leave no security deposit and need no credit card, but may still take €150 on 1–2 day rentals. Funchal Drive's terms say a zero-deductible package means no credit card is needed. Madpoint accepts debit cards or cash. Rodavante and Guerin, by contrast, require a physical credit card for the deposit. Company terms read on 9 October 2026.
Are there tolls in Madeira?
Not on the VR1 expressway along the south coast. It has been run as a road with no tolls for users, and when a new operator took over on 29 July 2026 the regional government's office said no tolls were planned for the new contract. Paid parking is the cost to watch: Pico do Areeiro charges €4 an hour after 30 free minutes in 2026. Since 1 June 2026 every hire contract also carries a regional usage fee of €2 a day, at most €20 per contract (Portaria n.º 214/2026).
Is driving in Madeira difficult?
The airport itself warns that many roads are 'winding and steep' and that drivers with mountain experience 'shouldn't have a problem'. The expressway and its tunnels are easy; the old roads, village lanes and mountain passes are where it gets hard. Choose a car with enough power for steep starts, and be ready for hill starts and narrow parking.
How much is petrol in Madeira?
Fuel prices are capped by the regional government every week. From 12 October 2026 the maximum is €2.003 a litre for 95 petrol and €2.091 for diesel (Despacho Conjunto n.º 91/2026).